April, Building, MakerSpace, parachutes, plastic eggs

April 2017

Spring is here and all around I see signs of new beginnings and new starts; new flowers poking out of the dirt, new nests for new eggs, and that means new challenges and crafts to be explored at the MakerSpace this month.  Here’s what’s springing into my library this month.  Be sure to come back mid-month to see some pictures of the students participating in the activities as well as my thoughts and reflections.

  1. Popsicle Sticks, Yarn and Pipe Cleaner Fun: This activity was inspired from many amazing crafts I found online by doing a simple search for “popsicle stick” and “pipe cleaner” crafts.  It builds upon our March MakerSpace moment where I challenge the students to construct things with popsicle sticks and clothespins, but this time were getting a bit more crafty.  I did put out an example sheet for the students to see some ideas of what they could build for those students who aren’t quite.  Click Here to download that example sheet.
  2. Plastic Egg Egg-stravaganza: For the past few weeks, every store I go into has plastic eggs everywhere so, of course, I did a quick search for activities and crafts using plastic eggs and two particular activities stood out as perfect for my MakerSpace.
    • Make an Egg Parachute:  I found this activity at a great blog, JDaniel4’s Mom, where she mentioned inspiration from the children’s museum in Columbia, South Carolina.  The idea is for students to  make parachutes where one half of the plastic egg is the base or bucket of the parachute.  Students use various objects like craft sticks, straws, chopsticks, pipe cleaners, etc. to coffee filters to create the parachutes and then test to see which materials made the best parachutes by seeing which could hold the most pennies. Click here to download the instruction sheet I created for the students.  Come back in a week to see how it turns out as we’re starting it when we come back from Spring Break on April 3rd!

parachute 1.png

  • Plastic Egg Tower Challenge:  Last month my students loved the Stack the Cat’s Hat building challenge and many gave me disappointed faces when I started to put it away on the last day prior to break.  So, keeping in mind that it’s always important to make sure your MakerSpace connects with the interests of your students, I loved that I found a plastic egg stacking challenge from Kimberly Johnson’s The Resourceful Mama website.  This is a wonderful place to find all kinds of great ideas for plastic eggs and so much more.  A special thank you to Kimberly for allowing me to create directions (click here to download) for this activity and share them with you on my blog.  The activity is quite simple, use one half of plastic eggs, and only plastic eggs, to make the tallest tower you can. Students can discuss strategies, but must work alone on the towers as only their two hands and the plastic eggs to make the towers.  I can’t wait to tell my students about this challenge on April 3rd, especially my Stack the Cat’s Hat builders, and all of you about how it goes!

egg-tower-challenge

Leave a Reply

